MINUTES OF SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, 19TH DECEMBER, 2024 AT 4.00 P.M.

Chair:	Cllr. Michael McCarthy
Cllrs:	Mary Hilda Cavanagh, Deirdre Cullen, Michael Doyle, Joe Sheridan, Michael Delaney, John Coonan, Maria Dollard, Joe Malone, Andrew McGuinness, Seán Ó hArgáin, Tomás Breathnach, Jenny Catt Slattery, Fidelis Doherty, Pat Dunphy, Ger Frisby.
Officials:	Lar Power, Mary Mulholland, Martin Prendiville, Fiona Deegan, Ian Gardner and Catherine Cooney.
Apologies:	Pat Fitzpatrick, Eugene McGuinness, David Fitzgerald.

The Cathaoirleach opened the Special Meeting and welcomed all. He advised that the purpose of the meeting is to fill the vacancy caused by the election of Peter 'Chap' Cleere as T.D.

The Cathaoirleach paid tribute to the service that Peter 'Chap' Cleere gave to Kilkenny County Council during his period as a Councillor. He wished him well in his new role in Dáil Eireann.

All Members present endorsed the comments of the Cathaoirleach and wished Deputy Cleere well in his new role.

Ms. Catherine Cooney advised that the Council has received notification in writing from the Fianna Fáil Party that Mr. Brian Cleere has been nominated to fill the vacancy. Mr. Cleere has indicated in writing that he is willing to accept the co-option, if approved.

Mary Mulholland, on behalf of the Executive and Staff of the Council, thanked Peter 'Chap' Cleere for his contribution to the Council over the last number of years and wished him well in his new career.

1. Filling of Casual Vacancy on Kilkenny County Council

It was proposed by Cllr. Michael McCarthy, seconded by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness and agreed by all that:

"In accordance with Section 19 of the Local Government Act, 2001, Kilkenny County Council by resolution at the Special Meeting held on 19th December, 2024, co-opted **Brian Cleere**, **Meadowview**, **Curraghlane Upper**, **Skeoughvosteen**, **Co. Kilkenny**, Member of the Fianna Fáil Party to replace Cllr. Peter 'Chap' Cleere as a Member of Kilkenny County Council.

Brian Cleere has indicated in writing prior to the meeting that he is consenting to be co-opted if the Council decided to accept his nomination".

The Cathaoirleach welcomed Cllr. Brian Cleere and invited him to take his seat in the Council Chamber.

Contributions were received from Cllrs. Mary Hilda Cavanagh, Andrew McGuinness, and Tomás Breathnach. All Members congratulated Cllr. Cleere on his co-option and wished him well in his endeavours.

In response, Cllr. Cleere acknowledged the warm welcome and expressed that it is an honour and privilege for him to be selected by the Fianna Fáil Party to fill Peter 'Chap' Cleere's seat and represent the people of Kilkenny and the Callan Thomastown Municipal District.

Ms. Mary Mulholland, on behalf of the Executive and Staff, welcomed Cllr. Cleere and looked forward to working with him. She offered him the support of all staff in his role as a Councillor.

(ii) Filling of Vacancies on Committees Caused by Election of Cllr. Peter 'Chap' Cleere as T.D.

(a) Leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council.

It was proposed by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, seconded by Cllr. John Coonan and agreed by all that:

"Kilkenny County Council hereby appoints **Cllr. Michael Delaney as Leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny Council** for the forthcoming year to replace Mr. Peter 'Chap' Cleere."

(b) Cathaoirleach of Callan-Thomastown Municipal District.

It was proposed by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, seconded by Cllr. John Coonan and agreed by all that:

"Kilkenny County Council hereby appoints **Cllr. Deirdre Cullen as Cathaoirleach of Callan-Thomastown Municipal** for the forthcoming year to replace Mr. Peter 'Chap' Cleere."

(c) Callan-Thomastown Municipal District.

It was proposed by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, seconded by Cllr. John Coonan and agreed by all that:

"Kilkenny County Council by resolution at the Special Meeting held on Thursday, 19th December, 2024 co-opted **Brian Cleere, Meadow View, Curragh Lane Upper,** *Skeoughvosteen, Co. Kilkenny, Member of the Fianna Fáil Party to replace Mr. Peter* 'Chap' Cleere on the Callan-Thomastown Municipal District."

(d) SPC 1 – Economic Development, Enterprise Support and Tourism, Planning and Development Policy.

It was proposed by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, seconded by Cllr. Deirdre Cullen and agreed by all that:

"Kilkenny County Council by resolution at the Special Meeting held on Thursday, 19th December, 2024 co-opted **Brian Cleere, Meadow View, Curragh Lane Upper, Skeoughvosteen, Co. Kilkenny,** Member of the Fianna Fáil Party to replace Mr. Peter 'Chap" Cleere on SPC1: Economic Development, Enterprise Support and Tourism, Planning and Development Policy." (e-g) It was proposed by Cllr. Andrew McGuinness, seconded by Cllr. John Coonan and agreed by all that:

"Item (e): Appointment to AILG, Item (f): Appointment to Kilkenny Carlow Education and Training Board, Item (g): Appointment to Water Safety Committee, Be deferred for consideration at the Plenary Meeting of the Council in January, 2025."

That concluded the business of the meeting.

CATHAOIRLEACH

DATE