Minutes of the Annual meeting of the Municipal District of Callan - Thomastown

Date: Wednesday 26th June 2024 @ 4pm

Venue: Callan Area Office, Prologue, Callan, Co. Kilkenny.

Chair:

Cllr Deirdre Cullen

Present:

Cllr Peter Chap Cleere, Cllr Deirdre Cullen, Cllr Michael Doyle, Cllr Joe Lyons, Cllr

Stephanie Doheny.

In attendance: Ms Anne Maria Walsh, Meetings Administrator; Mr. Declan Murphy, Area

Engineer; Ms Jennie O'Connor, Clerical Officer.

Apologies:

Ms Fiona Deegan, A/Director of Services; Ms Anne Marie Shortall, Senior Executive

Officer.

1) Election of Cathaoirleach

Members thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach Cllr Deirdre Cullen.

Cllr Chap Cleere was proposed for the position of Cathaoirleach by Cllr Deirdre Cullen and was seconded by Cllr Michael Doyle.

There were no further nominations.

Cllr Chap Cleere was elected as Cathaoirleach and thanked the members.

2) Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Cllr Cleere sought nominations for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Deirdre Cullen was proposed by Cllr Chap Cleere and seconded by Cllr Joe Lyons.

There were no further nominations.

Cllr Deirdre Cullen was elected as Leas Cathaoirleach and thanked the members.

3) Agree venue and schedule of Ordinary Meetings of the Municipal District of Callan-Thomastown from July 2024 to June 2025 inclusive

It was agreed by the elected members to hold the coming years meetings in accordance with the schedule of meetings as circulated, 1st Wednesday of each month with the July and every second subsequent meeting to take place by remote access via MS Teams, with in-person meetings for the remainder of the meetings to alternate between Callan and Thomastown. It was agreed to hold the December meeting in person.

4) Standing Orders

Amendments to the Callan-Thomastown Municipal District Standing Orders were discussed and it was agreed adoption of same will be placed on the agenda of the September Municipal District meeting.

Chairperson: CIII Mende Pulle