MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CASTLECOMER MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, JOHN STREET, KILKENNY ON MONDAY 21ST OF JUNE 2021 AT 10.45AM

In the chair:

Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick

Present:

Cllrs John Brennan, Michael Delaney, Michael McCarthy and Cllr

Mary Hilda Cavanagh via conference call

In attendance:

Mr Philippe Beubry, Mr Martin Prendiville, Ms Anne Maria Walsh

and Ms Nancy Byrne

Apologies:

Cllr Denis Hynes

1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr Michael McCarthy welcomed all to the Municipal District's Annual Meeting acknowledging how nice it was to meet in person. Cllr McCarthy thanked Mr Martin Prendiville and Ms Anne Maria Walsh for their assistance and guidance and the staff attached to the Castlecomer Area Office including Mr Philippe Beubry, Mr Denis Foley, Mr Joe Daly, Ms Margaret O'Neill and Ms Nancy Byrne and the 4 Overseers comprising Mr James Farrell, Mr Pat Hurley, Mr Bill Harrison and Mr John Shortall and their crews. Cllr McCarthy acknowledged the volume of work completed during the past year whilst adhering to HSE and Government guidelines.

Cllr McCarthy congratulated Dr Anne Marie Cavanagh, co-editor on her book launch.

Mr Martin Prendiville on behalf of the Executive thanked Cllr Michael McCarthy for his work during the past year. Mr Prendiville acknowledged an excellent working relationship and thanked Cllr McCarthy for the pragmatic way he conducted his role. Mr Prendiville also congratulated Cllr McCarthy on his new role as leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council.

The meeting then proceeded to the election of the Cathaoirleach.

Proposed by Cllr Michael McCarthy Seconded by Cllr John Brennan

"That Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick be elected Cathaoirleach".

As there were no further proposals for the position of Cathaoirleach, Cllr Michael McCarthy declared Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick to be elected Cathaoirleach for the Municipal District and invited him to take the chair.

Cllr Fitzpatrick thanked his proposer and seconder. He thanked Cllr McCarthy for what had been a very successful 12 months and advised that he was honoured and excited to be elected as chairman of the Castlecomer Municipal District. Cllr Fitzpatrick acknowledged

the challenging year which lay ahead as we emerge from restrictions imposed by the pandemic and advised as Chairman of the Municipal District, he is determined to tackle the various issues that confront us.

Contributions were received from the members as follows:

- Cllr McCarthy's very successful term as Cathaoirleach of the Castlecomer Municipal District was acknowledged.
- Cllr McCarthy was wished every success in his new position as leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council.
- Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick was congratulated and wished every success in his new role as Cathaoirleach of the Castlecomer Municipal District.
- The work completed by Clir Fitzpatrick as Cathaoirleach of the Joint Policing Committee was acknowledged.
- Congratulations to Dr Anne Marie Cavanagh and the Cavanagh family on Anne Marie's book launch.

2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Proposed by Cllr John Brennan Seconded by Cllr Michael McCarthy

"That Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh be elected leas Cathaoirleach.

Cllr Cavanagh thanked her proposer and seconder.

Contributions were received from the members as follows:

 Cllr Cavanagh's wealth of knowledge and years of service with distinction was acknowledged by all.

3. Agree Schedule of Meetings 2021 – 2022

Proposed by Clir Michael McCarthy Seconded by Clir John Brennan

That the schedule of meetings for the period June 2021 to May 2022 as set out hereunder be agreed.

21st June 2021 June 2021 19th July 2021 July 2021 August 2021 Summer Recess 20th September 2021 September 2021 October 2021 18th October 2021 15th November 2021 November 2021 20th December 2021 December 2021 January 2022 17th January 2022 February 2022 21st February 2022

March 2022

21st March 2022

April 2022

18th April 2022 16th May 2022

May 2022

This concluded the business of the meeting

