MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE CASTLECOMER MUNICIPAL DISTRICT HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, JOHN STREET, KILKENNY ON FRIDAY  $16^{TH}$  JUNE 2023 AT 12 NOON

In the chair:

Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh

Present:

Cllrs John Brennan, Michael Delaney, Pat Fitzpatrick, Denis Hynes and

Michael McCarthy

In attendance:

Mr Philippe Beubry, Mr Martin Prendiville and Ms Nancy Byrne

## 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh welcomed all present to the Municipal District's Annual Meeting. She thanked the officials for the work completed throughout the year: Mr Philippe Beubry and staff, Mr Martin Prendiville and Mr Michael Leahy and wished Mr Leahy a speedy recovery. Cllr Cavanagh also thanked her fellow elected members for their support and co-operation throughout the year.

Cllr Cavanagh reflected on what was a very positive and successful year for the Municipal District and works completed including the provision of additional social housing in Ballyragget, a new Fire Station in Urlingford, a new playground in Freshford and conservation works at Clomantagh and Grangefertagh Churches. Cllr Cavanagh voiced regret increased money hadn't been made available for the Community Involvement Scheme, however, acknowledged letter sent to Minister for Transport seeking additional funding for the Scheme.

The meeting then proceeded to the election of the Cathaoirleach.

**Proposed by** Cllr Michael McCarthy **Seconded by** Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick

"That Cllr Michael Delaney be elected Cathaoirleach".

On behalf of the Executive and staff, Mr Martin Prendiville acknowledged the leadership shown by Cllr Cavanagh over the past 12 months and congratulated Cllr Delaney and wished him well in his new role for the year ahead.

Cllr Delaney thanked his fellow members and also office and outdoor staff for their help and cooperation.

## 2. Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Proposed by Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh Seconded by Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick

"That Clir John Brennan be elected leas Cathaoirleach.

## 3. Agree Schedule of Meetings 2023 -2024

## Proposed by Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick Seconded by Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh

That the schedule of meetings for the period July 2023 to June 2024 as circulated with the agenda be agreed.

17th July 2023 July 2023 August 2023 **Summer Recess** 18<sup>th</sup> September 2023 September 2023 16<sup>th</sup> October 2023 October 2023 November 2023 20<sup>th</sup> November 2023 December 2023 18<sup>th</sup> December 2023 15th January 2024 January 2024 19th February 2024 February 2024 18th March 2024 March 2024 15th April 2024 April 2024 20<sup>th</sup> May 2024 May 2024 17<sup>th</sup> June 2024 June 2024

Members also agreed that the hour of the meeting would be altered to commence at 11.30am instead of the current 11am start time.

This concluded the business of the meeting

Cathaoirleach:

Date: