# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MUNICIPAL DISTRICT OF CASTLECOMER HELD ON MONDAY, 24<sup>TH</sup> OF JUNE AT 11.30AM

In the chair:

Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh

Present:

Cllrs John Brennan, Michael Delaney, Pat Fitzpatrick, Michael McCarthy, and

**Maurice Shortall** 

In attendance:

Mr Philippe Beubry, Mr Michael Leahy and Ms Nancy Byrne

Mr Michael Leahy opened the meeting, he put on record the members of the Municipal District of Castlecomer for the forthcoming term:- Brennan John, Cavanagh Mary Hilda, Delaney Michael, Fitzpatrick Pat, McCarthy Michael, Shortall Maurice. He congratulated the six members on their election success and commended them for putting their names forward. Mr Leahy then sought nominations for the position of Cathaoirleach.

#### 1. Election of Cathaoirleach

Proposed by: Cllr John Brennan
Seconded by: Cllr Michael McCarthy

Contributions were received from the members as follows:

- The work completed by Cllr Michael Delaney during his term as Cathaoirleach for the MD was acknowledged by all.
- Cllr Michael McCarthy was wished success in his position as Cathaoirleach for the Plenary for the coming year.
- Cllr Maurice Shortall was welcomed as a member of the Municipal District of Castlecomer.
- Members paid tribute to former councillor, Denis Hynes and Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh requested that a letter issue to thank him for his 5 years of service with the Municipal District.

### 2. Election of leas Cathaoirleach

Proposed by: Cllr Michael Delaney Seconded by: Cllr Michael McCarthy

"That Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick be elected leas Cathaoirleach"

## 3. Review of Standing Orders

Members agreed that the review of standing orders for the MD be deferred until the review of standing orders by the Plenary is completed.

#### 4. Agree Schedule of Ordinary Meetings 2024 – 2025

It was proposed by Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh, seconded by Cllr Pat Fitzpatrick and agreed that:

- The hour of the meeting would change to 12 noon.
- In the event of a longer agenda, the hour of the meeting would revert to 11.30am.
- The number of presentations provided would not exceed one per meeting.

<sup>&</sup>quot;That Cllr Mary Hilda Cavanagh be elected Cathaoirleach"

This concluded the business of the meeting.

Chairperson:

many Durain Lamanagh

Date: